So many events…

Through the Chaos

Image via Wikipedia

The last six months have flown by.. I’m disappointed I haven’t been able to keep y’all up to date.

Loads of drama, but that’s not anything new really.

In a nutshell here’s the highlights..

  • We finished the body work on DD’s truck and DH got it painted. It turned out very pretty but now she wants a little sports car. I think DH may have had a hand in that decision.
  • #1 son starts his last year of College next month and should be back from teaching in Wisconsin in three weeks. He may have a job lined up in Tampa.
  • DIL got a job in Atlanta and will be gone next week. So it looks like they will continue their long distance marriage for at least another year! ARGH! (hard to get grand kids that way!)
  • # 2 son has a new girl in his life and she is a doll! Smart, funny and she tolerates him! What more could a Mom ask for? (it helps that he’s smart and funny too!)
  • My mom is being divorced. Can you say ugly all day? It has been a crushing experience for her and watching it has been devastating for me. I don’t know if she will come out of this.
  • #3 son signed with the Marines! Yes, I said the Marines! I have some very not nice words for the Navy recruiters here. All they wanted to talk about were video games.. uh, HELLO? Seriously? He tells them he wants to sign up and they talk video games? After taking the ASVAB and scoring quite well he just wanted to “talk” to the Marines.. yes, that is what he said. I know he wanted to sign with them when this started but I wanted Navy. So there ya go… I am a mother of a Marine! Pray for me! He leaves October 6th.
  • I am just now putting the binding on that diamond quilt I am making for my niece. Yep I’m still working on that quilt and no I didn’t set it aside to make anything else.
  • The garden is growing nicely after planting it the second time. We had a hard freeze the second week of February and there was no saving it. I spend at least an hour a day just watching it grow.
  • We finished the upstairs bathroom. It turned out nice. We got the tile and cabinet in last month. Of course now that we’re close to finishing the big projects around here we’re talking about moving.. where depends on whether there are grands in the making…

So there ya go.. I’ve already missed two quilt shows.. I’m hoping that life settles down soon so I can get back into the quilt room. I think I may have settled the tension problem I was having with my longarm. It turns out it wasn’t me!  When I moved it got knocked out of whack! !  Yesterday I traded the Babylock Ellegante in for a Duetta.. so there’s a new machine to play with. Oh and it looks like I have a grand puppy coming soon! So you know I have to make her a quilt!

5 Comments

Filed under long arm, quilter, random thoughts, thoughts

5 responses to “So many events…

  1. I’m so sorry to hear the bad news but it is good to hear some good things that have been happening. Too much drama in our lives! Take care and you are in my thoughts and prayers!

  2. Bad news, good news. Just means that life is normal! Good to hear from you again. Good luck getting back in that quilting room. All I did today is finish remaking several set of drapes, make a custard pie for a fund raiser tonight, make a little apple tart just for us, and make a batch of rice krispie treats for the fund raiser.

Leave a Reply

