Ugly all day..

“Ugly Quilt”

Some quilts are just ugly. No matter how well they are made they just end up ugly. Some start with ugly fabric and end up pretty. And the weird part is that it is the ugly fabric that makes the quilt work.

When I was making the disappearing nine patch quilt above .. it was plain hideous. But wait I planned it that way! I wanted it to be ugly so I could finally keep one of my own quilts. Surely no one would want this as ugly as it is. Then as I put all those ugly fabrics together.. they worked! What are the odds? Over a hundred seriously ugly fabrics and poof! It works? (I know you’re clicking on the close-up to that quilt now.. see they’re ugly...)
 Well I’ve also made quilts that I planned on being pretty and they turned out.. not so pretty. Not quite hideous but close enough that I didn’t spend the time to quilt them. I bring them out now and then to see if maybe they lost some of the ugly while in storage.. or maybe some thread painting will fix them? Nothing has come to mind yet so they’re packed up so I don’t see them.
But with each quilt I start those quilts come to mind. I usually don’t plan a quilt around a fabric collection. It’s not that I’ve never .. honestly I usually buy fabric on sale, Clearance is my friend.
I’ve been really hooked on cake stacks lately.. they’re like junk food. Most of the work has been done for you.. I don’t have to worry about the fabrics coordinating.. I just sew. But today it is again time to pull out fabric for two quilts and I’m worrying about ugly again. It was years ago that I made those quilts. I hope I’ve learned what it was that didn’t work. On the other hand I hope I’m not playing it too safe either.. because one thing I’ve learned.. sometimes ugly is quite beautiful.
3 Comments

Filed under baby quilt, quilt, quilter, random thoughts, thread painting

3 responses to “Ugly all day..

  1. Wendy

    I like your ugly quilt! I am the winner of the ugly quilt. I would send you a picture if I could. I noticed people who made beautiful quilts used some of the ugliest fabrics I have ever seen. I set out to make a quilt with the ugliest fabrics I could find and thougt it would turn out beautiful. Guess what it turned out ugly. The joke was on me.

Leave a Reply

