Repetition..

A "speed hump" sign in Sante Fe, New...

Image via Wikipedia

Have you ever had to repeat yourself? No, I mean a lot, and for hours? Reality dictates that sometimes it is necessary to get your point across. You find different ways to say the same thing and each time it gets more believable or acceptable. That was my day yesterday.. and today, same thing. Actually I have about three days of going over the same three truths.

  1. No more driving
  2. You can’t live alone
  3. Your husband is gone and does not want to come back

These truths really stink. It’s not a fun thing to talk about. There is no humor to be found. I’m a shock and awe kind of person so it was a hard day for me. I really prefer to just get stuff done but not everyone is that way, they need to think about things and then settle into them.

I love my mother. She has been my best friend for most of my adult life. She had such a sense of humor and fun that you couldn’t wait to spend time with her. Now she is going the opposite way.. yet I still see sparks of her in there.. I want her back! So I will continue to chip away at this until I find her and bring her back or.. well, honestly or else!

I’m resolute and I’ve got back-up on the way. My sister will be here in a few days. She’s the take charge person and much better suited for these type of things except that it’s like holding up a mirror between them.. they are almost identical in their stubbornness. My mother will fight it simply if she thinks it is what my sister wants done.

My sister and I used to fight over who got to have Mom live with them when she got older. It was such a competition that today it seems funny. Well just for the record.. I’m gonna win! I just hope I get the fun and funny Mom!

2 Comments

Filed under alzheimers

2 responses to “Repetition..

  1. I do not envy you as I have gone through this twice so far. It breaks my heart because I feel so bad for your mom. On the one side there is reality, but on her side, she has lost control and most everything that makes her that special person. She will have to go through the grieving process much like when a loved one passes away. Prayers for you and your family.

  2. I totally understand and am going thru a lot of the same things with my Dad and In-laws. With Dad, he’s loosing physical control and Mother-in-law, it is mental loss and control of loosing her home & possessions (memories), transitioning into assisted living. Father-in-law is trying to manage it alone. It is sad to watch, and stressful in trying to help when they think they can manage alone, but really can’t. It is draining me and is overwhelming. I wish I could see the humor and light of it like you can. They don’t have the sense of humor like you and your Mom, you are truly blessed. But God is there for me when I need him. I am going to “Live Love & Laugh” tonight & tomorrow for some fun & spiritual refreshment!

Leave a Reply

