Rainy tueday

Bar Xizam (.103/365)

Image by Miss Sydney Marie via Flickr

I’m starting to not like getting phone calls. Maybe I could just stick my head in the sand and ignore the world? Naw, that’s not my style. I’m learning a lot spending this much time around hospitals though. Modern medicine is pretty amazing when you think about it.

I’m sad, emotionally weary and still putting one foot in front of the other. If only I could get back into the world of quilting. I look over at Vern (husquavarna) and wish I was fighting for perky points right now. My sister (okay, not by blood but by tears) sent me pictures of some quilts her grandmother made. They are amazing! I wish I had the brain power to get them off my phone to show you but that’s not happening right now. I told her that quilters were a different breed. I may have been onto something there. I know that since I started quilting I see quilts everywhere. There seems to be a quilt for every occasion too. Even now, in the midst of heart-break I’ve conjured up a quilt in my mind to fit even this occasion.

 I’m off to appointments and such. And yes, waiting for the next phone call… maybe good news this time?

2 Comments

Filed under postaday2011, quilter, random thoughts

2 responses to “Rainy tueday

  1. jennyklyon

    I pray you will find renewal and joy in this day!

  2. just found this, might need a laugh!
    VERY CONTAGIOUS TO ADULTS
    SYMPTOMS
    Continual complaint as to need for snuggling under a handmade quilt. Patient has blank expression, sometimes deaf to spouse and kids. Has no taste for bedspreads or electric blankets. Hangs out at Quilting Bees. Mumbles to self “Log Cabin”, “Double Wedding Ring”, “Ohio Rose”…
    NO KNOWN CURE!

    TREATMENT
    Medication is useless, Disease is Not Fatal. Victim should attend as many Quilt shows and Quilt shops as possible.

    CAUSE
    A recent study has indicated that fabric gives off certain Pheromones, that actually hypnotizes women, and causes them to purchase ungodly amounts. Sound tests have also revealed that these fabrics emit a very high-pitched sound, heard only by a select few of the breed of women known as “quilters”.

    When stored in large quantities in enclosed spaces, the Pheromones cause memory loss and induce the nesting syndrome (similar to the one squirrels have before the onset of winter, therefore, perpetuating their species, and not having a population loss due to their kind being cut up into little pieces and mixed with others. When played backwards on a LP, the sounds are heard as chants “buy me, cut me, sew me”!

    In order to overcome the so called ‘feeding frenzy effect’ that these fabrics cause, one must wear a face mask when entering a storage facility and use ear plugs to avoid being pulled in to their grip. (One must laugh, however, at the sight of women in a fabric store, with WWII Army gas masks and headphones!)

    Studies also indicate that aliens have inhabited the earth, helping to spread the effect that these fabrics have on the human woman population. They are called FABRIC STORE CLERKS.

Leave a Reply

