24 of 48

Logo of Alzheimer's Society.

Image via Wikipedia

I’ve spent 24 of the last 48 hours in the hospital with my step-dad. My mom thinks I’m mean because I keep making her eat and she doesn’t want to. I’m tired but she is just plain worn out. Alzheimer’s and dementia are cruel things to those that have to deal with it. He will be on a plane bound for Memphis on Monday. Twenty seven years ago he purchased a lifetime care policy at a Alzheimer’s care facility there.

Because we know what he wants to do it makes these decisions a little easier but they hurt just the same. He can’t tell us when he is in pain. We have to watch for signs. He doesn’t know he has broken his hip or that he has had surgery. Last night after we left he pulled a staple out.

The nursing staff is amazing. But I really don’t know what people who don’t have family that can take shifts helping do?

 This has been a difficult week but I know there will be more. Mom is left behind in Florida and he will be there in Tennessee. Her life has been as a caregiver for years now. She will have too much time on her hands. She has neglected herself for so long and it will be a climb to get her back to where she will take care of herself again.

I’m sad yet I still have hope. I find my joy in that.

4 Comments

Filed under alzheimers, postaday2011, random thoughts

4 responses to “24 of 48

  1. You, Step Dad and Mom are in my prayers-such a difficult time.

  2. Such a sad and difficult time…prayers…

  3. Thinking of you. I am sorry for everyone. Glad you can find some joy somehow.

  4. I just posted a blog about an article in the September 2011 issue of Reader’s Digest. You might want to check it out. It included a useful list of resources. All my best to all of you!

Leave a Reply

