Selling Quilts

Image representing Etsy as depicted in CrunchBase

Image via CrunchBase

There are 37,078 quilts listed for sale on ETSY and 3066 listed on EBAY. That’s a bunch of quilts for sale. I also get emails from people who sell antique quilts they’ve found.

It makes me wonder.. how does someone successfully sell their quilts for a fair price just often enough to keep a supply of fabric on hand to make more quilts? I generally give away the quilts I make but I have wondered for some time now if I sold a few, maybe I could buy even more fabric.. to make even more quilts. It’s not like I want to make a living.. I just want to supplement my quilt expenses..

I don’t see it happening anytime soon. I had planned to sell some this year but my schedule has been kinda  full this year. Besides I’d like to hear from y’all. Do you sell your quilts? Do you have any suggestions??

I’ve got a half-dozen quilts on hand that as yet, I haven’t given away. With all the quilts out there.. should I even try or give them away as gifts.. Christmas is coming! 

Related articles

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Selling Quilts

  1. You know that is a good question. I have seen friends sell some quilts for hundreds of dollars and then again seen some that were not worth the cost of the fabric. My thoughts are quality is top, color and pattern right up there next and then finding the right market. I don’t know how well it pays off on Ebay or Etsy. Myself I give some away.

  2. The Golden Question – a hard one to answer, but if you don’t give it a try you will never know. I totally agree in finding the right market. The fun and enjoyment is in the making – with tough competition and many doing the same thing, it is hard to be found in amongst it all. Marketing then becomes key… Good luck if you do:)

  3. I have made 5 quilts since March. Well, one is not completed so really 4.5 but 3 were sold before they were started, one was a wedding gift and the one that is not complete is for me. It has been through word of mouth that I have been selling mine. I have an etsy account but have not uploaded anything to sell yet.

  4. I have been selling on Etsy since 2008. Not enough to take a vacation, but definately enough to keep buying more fabric! And that’s what it’s all about, right? The nice thing I have found about Etsy and Facebook, is that it leads to custom orders, which are nice because you know they are sold before you start. But in some way, they are more stressful. Are they going to like the quilt as much as you do? But I always send my customer a photo, and if it isn’t exactly what they wanted, I make another one and sell that one. You should try. It doesn’t cost anything to create an account and it only costs $.20 to list an item. I don’t have very much in my shop right now since I have been gone so much this summer. Check it out at http://www.countrybydesign.etsy.com.

  5. Thanks so much! Y’all have given me a bunch of information to “chew” on. I’d love to “help” my fabric expenses.. so I may just try it.. of course that means in my “spare time” and I’m not sure when that will be.

  6. Give it a try. I sell thru Etsy, from my web site and also participate in a local co-op. Mine are primarily utility quilts with an art piece here and there. I price according to size. With the 3 venues I sell enough to keep buying fabric.
    maggie
    http://mageez.org

  7. I understand. I quit selling my quilts on Ebay and Etsy and just use my own website. I sell one every once in awhile. You are right. There are more quilters trying to sell their beautiful work and the market is flooded.

    I found that I sell my quilts locally easier than trying to do so online.

Leave a Reply

