Details take time..

Detail of sun quilt

Image via Wikipedia

Details, they are the things that trip us up or make projects stand out. But why is it the details take more time than the projects?

I spent over eight hours driving around and doing errands yesterday. There’s little wonder I slept so well! I still have loads of details to get checked off my list today too. DD has a project to hopefully keep her busy much of the day. It turns out I’m gonna need about three more pinks for the wedding quilt so a trip to the fabric store is in order.. aww shucks, isn’t that just a shame?

But seriously, I will be starting the cutting and piecing and hopefully decide on the backing fabric too. Once I get the blocks laid out I’ll know more about what else I can add to it. Besides, I can’t wait to read the blocks!  Sure I looked at a couple of them but as I sew I will read them. The other signature quilts I made were finished quilts that I then had people sign. I won’t do that again as I had to rip out blocks because people messed up or wrote the wrong names.. (yes they forgot who they were writing to!).

On a side note I was just informed about a “leetle” project my Sis needs help with. She says little in such a way that you usually know you’re in for some trouble. But at least I know it going in and can prepare for it. I’ve got a few months to prepare and this time, I’m bringing my tools!

2 Comments

Filed under postaday2011, quilt blocks, quilter

2 responses to “Details take time..

  1. I’m starting a new quilt soon as well, and I’m still at the “working out which fabrics I’m going to use” stage. Lots of patterns and colours to choose from: decisions, decisions!

  2. All that fabric, and not any more Pink? 😉 excuses to go fabric shopping!!

Leave a Reply

