Creativity Cranker

One of the great joys of life is creativity. Information goes in, gets shuffled about, and comes out in new and interesting ways.
Peter McWilliams

What do you do to get your creativity going? What revs your engines? For me I guess it depends on the day. I had planned on going to the NQA Quilt Show in Columbus this weekend. Now quilt shows definitely crank up my engines!

Being around other quilters is also gas in my engine. Guild meetings with the guest speakers, show and tell, and classes all the while quilters talking about quilting. Yes, visiting quilting blogs and seeing their works in progress and hearing about their projects does it too. I enjoy reading about quilting, fiction and non fiction alike.

Colors, fabrics, patterns.. any of these can get me going.  The colors in nature or even the paint chips at the hardware store. Fabrics in a quilt shop or even clothes. I love to see what people are wearing together.. the colors the textures. Patterns are everywhere, in a tile floor, in a planted field, buildings, bridges, yes even in a smile!

I begin to wonder about all these things that stir up my creativity … lets face it, the things I’ve talked about here are everywhere. So why is it, that I have such problems getting motivated. Going from creativity to creating…

1 Comment

Filed under postaday2011, quilter, random thoughts

One response to “Creativity Cranker

  1. Why, you are creating and making quilts all the time. I’m sure this little pause is just some time to rest and rejuvenate. Don’t fight it just enjoy the time to reflect on other things. It will come back!

Leave a Reply

