When I can’t quilt.. I read about quilting…

I just didn’t have it in me to get the quilt top mounted on the table. Maybe I’ll try this morning but I’ll tell ya, yesterday afternoon I was too sick to use my arms like that.  Fevers are not happy times for me and my illnesses. I did get to do a little reading.

I just finished a historical fiction book ‘Trail of Thread’ by Linda K. Hubalek. It was a great book! I can’t wait to get the rest of the series.

Hello from the Kansas prairie!

I’m pioneer writer Linda Hubalek, roaming the Internet—via my laptop—on a WOW! Book Blog Tour. Because my Trail of Thread book series weaves stories and quilts together, the Quilting Gallery is a perfect stop to tell you a little bit about the series.

I’ve written ten books about pioneers; about women that forged trails and built homesteads during the 1860s to the 1910s. These main characters were my ancestors who decided to make the Kansas frontier their home. A woven mixture of facts and fiction, you’ll be drawn into their pioneer stories.

Quilts and quilting seemed like a perfect theme for the stories of my mother’s side of the family after my mother told me the story behind one special quilt she’s had since she was a teenager.

In 1938 my mother’s great aunt Martha Pieratt gave her a quilt. At that time the quilt was over 100 years old and had been handed down through her mother’s Kennedy family. Doing some research on it while planning my Trail of Thread book series, it turns out to be the Cleveland Tulip pattern and it traveled with Martha’s mother Maggie Kennedy when she moved from Ohio to Kansas in 1858.

Cleveland Tulip

So I wove a quilting theme into the titles and the Trail of Thread book series by featuring twelve quilt patterns in each book.

My Trail of Thread book was about my ancestor Deborah Pieratt’s wagon trail journey to the Territory of Kansas in 1854. The second book, Thimble of Soil featured Margaret Ralston Kennedy’s decision to move her family from their safe Ohio home to the unsettling territory in 1855. And the final book in the series, Stitch of Courage, followed Maggie Kennedy Pieratt during her young years as she marries James Monroe Pieratt during the Civil War.

4 Comments

Filed under postaday2011, quilt blocks, quilter

4 responses to “When I can’t quilt.. I read about quilting…

  1. jennyklyon

    Hope you’re feeling better soon-no fun to be sick! You’ve got quiltin’ to do!!

  2. Thanks for reading my book Trail of Thread and posting about it. I appreciate it! And glad it could give you a little comfort and a “bit of quilting” too.
    Enjoy all ten of my books that are available as ebooks also.

Leave a Reply

