Samelia’s Mum: Tutorial – Single Fold Binding

 

I have always preferred single fold binding.. I just found this tutorial. Thought I’d share!

Here’s how I make my single fold binding:

First I cut my fabric strips for the binding at 1.25″. If more length is required, attach however many strips you need for your project – just like you would when making your double fold binding.

Start about halfway along one side, leaving a tail for joining, sew the binding to the top with right sides together #1/4″ seam#. I use my 1/4″ foot because it has a great little guide, but a walking foot is probably the better option for.

From the front of the quilt, turn out the binding and press it with a hot iron.

Flip it over now and begin to fold over your binding once and then twice so it covers your stitches… I think the next pictures explain what I want to say better.

Press and then use pins to hold it down as you work along the quilt edges. Mitre the corners as you would normally do with your double fold binding.

Slip stitch it in place along the seamline.

And there you have it. Nice. Neat. And no unsightly bulk.

via Samelia’s Mum: Tutorial – Single Fold Binding.

2 Comments

Filed under binding, postaday2011, quilter

2 responses to “Samelia’s Mum: Tutorial – Single Fold Binding

  1. Katie

    Interesting. Binding is one area I struggle with most. And so far I’ve only done a double folded binding but I’d be interested to try this on a future project. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

