Creatively quilting with God by my side!: Charm pack Mirrored Pinwheel very easy to make!!

Here’s the tutorial I told you about… and of course I thank her for allowing me to share her work with you!

Charm pack Mirrored Pinwheel very easy to make!!

So sorry it has taken me this long to post about quilting. A few months ago I purchased 2 Moda Noel de Lummier Charm packs and 2 white/tan blender fabrics. I was trying to figure out something to do with them other than a patchwork quilt. For my first step I seperated the charm packs and used 2 darks with 2 lights. once I had them seperated I sewed a 4 patch. I took 2 sets of 4 side by side and cut them on the diagonal both directions. I then swaped out the fabric on both to make a pinwheel . sewed them back together. Here is where the fun begins!!! I cut them 1 1/4″ from the center line on all 4 sides (you can go as big as you want#. I turned the all of the middle fabrics to make a new block! This may seem like a lot of work and a very difficult block. It is very easy and a beginner can make this. Please let me know if you have any questions I we will work it through!

Seperated into light and dark 4 patches

Cut on the diagonal on both sets of 4 patches

Trade out the top and bottom triangles on both 4 patches

sew back together

Looks like when done sewing back together

Ok here is the fun part!! Line ruler up on the 1 1/4″ mark from the center line. Then take a deep breath and cut. Do this on all 4 sides.

This is what it will look like when done. Note that the center block does not move.

You will turn the rectangle squares 180 degrees see photo remember the center block does not move you might want to take a picture on your camera to reference if you get lost. One thing to keep in mind you will always have a dark matched up with a light fabric.

Now my suggestion is to sew this in a row. The top row, middle row then bottom row. #note this picture is upside down so it looks like the middle was moved it has not been turned)

Here is what the finished product will look like. You can use as many or as few fabrics as you like. I made this up on EQ5 with Red/white/blue fabic and I love the look. I have not finished the quilt yet but it is in the works!!

via Creatively quilting with God by my side!: Charm pack Mirrored Pinwheel very easy to make!!.

2 Comments

Filed under postaday2011, quilt blocks, quilter

2 responses to “Creatively quilting with God by my side!: Charm pack Mirrored Pinwheel very easy to make!!

  1. jennyklyon

    THAT is the coolest! How do they think of these things?

Leave a Reply

