The Impulsive Traveler: Paducah, Ky., will bring out the artist in you – The Washington Post

When I read that intro line it hooked me! Of course I’m still in countdown mode for Paducah (just in case a miracle happens) SO I am sharing..

By Nancy Trejos, Friday, April 15, 1:59 PM

I hate gelatin. Sorry, Bill Cosby. But I just can’t bring myself to eat something that’s used to bind meat in a can.

Paducah, Ky., will bring out the artist in you

So when artist Char Downs proposed teaching me how to make prints using gelatin, I was intrigued.

I had my pick of art workshops all over Paducah, Ky. For more than a decade, this small western Kentucky town (pop. 26,000) has been luring artists from around the country with grants and other incentives through its Artist Relocation Program. More than two dozen galleries specializing in fabric arts, quilting, jewelry-making, bookbinding and just about any other art technique you can think of — or never would have thought of — line the streets of the LowerTown Arts District. Once a dilapidated ghost town, the neighborhood is now a charming, bustling community that reminded me a bit of New Orleans’s Garden District before Hurricane Katrina.

That commitment to the arts recently earned Paducah the Fan Favorite award among the National Trust for Historic Preservation’s 2011 Dozen Distinctive Destinations. Twenty blocks of downtown are on the National Register of Historic Places. “I’ve waited all my life to find this neighborhood,” said Char, who relocated from San Francisco six years ago. “You get inspired.”

I needed inspiration when she presented me with a slab of unsweetened gelatin at her Pinecone Art Studio. Was I supposed to paint on it or with it?

via The Impulsive Traveler: Paducah, Ky., will bring out the artist in you – The Washington Post.

1 Comment

Filed under American Quilters Society, postaday2011, quilt

One response to “The Impulsive Traveler: Paducah, Ky., will bring out the artist in you – The Washington Post

  1. I would so love to go. Maybe next year. Thanks for posting the article.

Leave a Reply

