Quilters’ Block..

Quilt pile

Image by qusic via Flickr

You’ve heard of writers’ block? Well I have Quilters’ block. Yet consensus is that no, I am not a real hoarder of fabric. And since I don’t have any more room for huge purchases ( I like huge purchases, don’t you?)  I do need to start a challenge for myself. I did this three years ago after Thanksgiving and really had a blast. (What can I say I am easily entertainable)

Starting Monday I will attempt to make six quilts in six weeks. No smaller than 48 X 48 and no larger than 80 X 80. I must use a pattern of sorts not uniform blocks. Finished block size no larger than 12 inches finished. I can not purchase fabric for these quilts they must all come from my stash. They all must be quilted with binding attached and at least half must be bound with labels.

When I did this before I used the quilts as Christmas gifts. It’s too bad I don’t have loads of baby fabric because I know so many people expecting babies! Of course the prize (the grand prize) is a shopping trip to re stock my stash. I mean what is a better motivator? The problem is that I have really hit a creative wall. Even with the new and improved quilt room I am just sitting here looking at fabric.

Seriously, you know it’s bad when I re-organize and clean rather than quilt! I still have to get that Bieber Quilt pattern done too. My DD keeps asking when? SO here I go, the prep is simple. I have to get food ready. Yep, I still have to cook these weeks I’m quilting and yes I have to do my chores too. By sunday night I will have six piles of fabric at the ready and six patterns on top of them.

By starting this I hope that by telling y’all I’ll be held accountable. It’s out there now, I have to do it. I’m already sitting here thinking of reasons I shouldn’t publish this. Isn’t that sad?

8 Comments

Filed under baby quilt, fabric, postaday2011, quilt, quilt blocks, quilter, random thoughts

8 responses to “Quilters’ Block..

  1. knitwitted

    HA! Quilter’s Block… I love it!!

    I too am fiberally challenged. Fabrics – a ton. But I won’t mention the other tons of needlework threads and canvases I ponder to one day complete.

    My recent self challenge is to give away the bulk of my fabrics… 80% of what remains will be further divided into 1/2-yard increments… the rest will remain intact.

    Wishing us all luck! I’m always hopeful we can do what our brains say we can!

  2. knitwitted

    Only a yard?!! Well shucks! I think my 8 hefty yard sacks full would cover at least 3 or 4 yards in my neighborhood…

    And yes… I too still have a few of those fabs from those fab late-70s and early-80s!

  3. knitwitted

    Check it out…

Leave a Reply

